Dandelions and Roses (Devotional on: Comparing, Friendship/Relationships, and Flaws)

For today’s blog I am sure you all have probably heard this story once… well not the story that I titled the blog post, but the story in the bible that goes along with it. If you know me really well you understand, the need of dandelions. You probably even hear me randomly saying “dandelions” or screaming it randomly. Those who don’t understand always give me a weird look, but those who know say it randomly too! Either way you all will learn a little bit of why I need dandelions today. We are going to be reading about Martha and Mary. The topics are: Comparing, Friendship, and flaws.

 

Luke 10:38-42

38 As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. 39 She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said.40 But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one.[a]Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

In that passage we see how Martha was comparing herself to her sister. She was pointing out that Mary was doing nothing… or so that is what it seems. Both Mary and Martha are doing there part in worshiping God. Mary is doing her part by praising Jesus at His feet. In today’s life I see that as prayer, reading His word, and singing praises. Martha is worshiping by cleaning up. This is done the same today. Martha’s way of worship was more like feeding the poor, cleaning the Lords house, and nursery help. Either way they both were working hard for the Lord.

I believe Martha felt as if Mary was doing nothing and seemed to get glory for it. Which made her think “What about me, Lord? Do you see what I have done for you?”
I believe we all act like Martha. It may not always be in working for the Lord. We also compare our looks. We say things like “I wish I had thick hair.” “I wish my eyes were a brighter blue” Those are just two simple examples,  but you can probably think of some of your own comparisons. We also compare what others own. We all have said “I wish I could afford that!” or “I wish I could have this!”

Our comparing is like a dandelion and a rose. (Yay! I finally get to tell this story… I’ve been waiting months keeping it a secret!)

The dandelion and the rose study each others lives. Neither one knows the truth about the others life. Each is watching from the outside, not living in each others lives.
The dandelion talks of the rose saying “You are flawless. You are Beautiful. You get these luxuries living in that crystal vase. You are so loved by everyone you meet. While everyone who meets me leaves me damaged stepping all over me. They poison me when I try to visit. Being  A dandelion is not easy at all! I wish I was you beautiful and loved.”

The Rose speaks of the dandelion saying “You are free. You can just be you. You do not have these expectations on you. You look like the sun. You seem so bright and happy. I am in a vase all alone. While you are outside with the children, spinning in circles. I often wish to be you.. full of laughter and freedom.”

Both Flowers have challenges in life. Both are who they are made to be. You may be more like the dandelion that is okay! Actually in my opinion great because dandelions are my favorite flower! Or you may be more like the rose. That is nice too. Roses are beautiful!

If you did not understand that here it is in the life of a human instead of a flower.
The Dandelion as a person: “You are flawless. You are beautiful. You get all these luxuries living in a beautiful big home. Everyone you meet loves you. Everyone who meets me leaves me damaged. They step all over me. They do not welcome me in. It isn’t easy being me. I wish I was you, beautiful and loved.”

The rose as a person: “You are free. You can be you with out everyone constantly watching and pointing out what you’ve done. You do not have these expectations constantly put on your shoulders. You seem so bright and happy. I may have a nice home, I may have many friends, but deep down I’m all alone. They do not really know me. I often wish to be you free and full of joy!”

So if you are struggling with comparing, friendship, or flaws remember. We all have flaws and struggles. all relationships struggle. So be who God created you to be. Do not try to become someone you are not!

Activity:
get yarn one girl starts with it and throws it to another girl. As she throws it she has to complement the girl she throws it to.

Like I said in my last post. I just wanted to let you know. The reason this blog post has activities is because I am working on a project and I am using this for it. That will also explain the questions and answers! I chose to leave it up if you wanted to use this idea too!

dandiandrose2.jpg

11 thoughts on “Dandelions and Roses (Devotional on: Comparing, Friendship/Relationships, and Flaws)

  1. Angela Umphers Rueger says:

    I love your illustration of the dandelion and the rose. I am a dandelion. No huge, beautiful house, mind you, just a tendency to spread myself thin, trying to touch the lives of as many people as possible. Liked, but not always appreciated. Beautifully worded. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marva | SunSparkleShine says:

    I love the analogy here and it was so clear how we compare ourselves with others; constantly thinking that the grass is greener on the other side. Meanwhile, God knows exactly why He made us the way He did and why He put us in these circumstances. Thank you for giving us this reminder to appreciate our special and unique qualities.
    Blessings to you!
    Marva | SunSparkleShine

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Allie says:

    I never have heard that comparison before, and I love it!! Such a beautiful reminder that it is truly ineffective and even damaging to compare ourselves to others instead of loving what God has made unique about us. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beka says:

    I agree with the others before me. The dandelion and rose comparison is great and really illustrates your point. May we all be able to remember this lesson!

    Like

Leave a Reply

