Living Your Purpose

Today we are going to be talking about purpose. God has led me to talk about this for awhile. The excuses we use that keep us from our purpose bother me. Why should we make excuses? Must of us have heard that “God is for us, who can be against us?”- Romans 8:31 We even state that verse, but do we really believe it? If we are being honest I do not think we do, because if we truly did believe that, than we would not have any excuses. 

Jeremiah 1:4-10 (NIV) (if you do not like this version feel free to use your preferred version!)

“4 The word of the LORD came to me, saying, 5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” 6 “Alas, Sovereign LORD,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.” 7 But the LORD said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. 8 Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the LORD. 9 Then the LORD reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “I have put my words in your mouth. 10 See, today I appoint you over nations and kingdoms to uproot and tear down, to destroy and overthrow, to build and to plant.”

We make excuses for why we just cannot do it. But if God called you to do it I am one-hundred percent sure you can “Just Do It” I will go ahead and list excuses we use that prevent us from doing His will for our lives. WE use the excuse of Failures, rejection/hate, selfishness, we want control, too young/old, too ordinary/good/not good enough, it can wait, and I am too busy. There are so many more we use.I am going to share my excuses. 1. Failure I am afraid I will not do it right. 2. Rejection I am afraid I will mess up than everyone will remember that one mistake and will not like me. Sometimes I have great blog post ideas, but I keep them to myself because I fear rejection. 3. Not Good Enough This one is more of a minor side effect of #2. And I am slowly getting rid of #2. 🙂 4. Selfishness I am full of pride. I want to be seen as who I imagine myself to be (well who I want myself to be anyways). In all honesty we all have that “dark side” we do not want others to know about. But maybe God wants you to tell others so, they can see they are not alone in this battle. Others need the light and to feel worthy. We can reflect His light. 
Whatever your excuse is “Let It Go”. God is with you. He did not call you to do something just to watch you fail. He called you to stand tall and strong in your faith.

We also need to remember these wise words by William J. Toms “Be careful how you live. You may be the only Bible some person reads.” I have that quote memorized. Partially because 1. I love quotes so much and that was a powerful one. 2. I have heard it multiple times by my old youth leader. He quoted it many times at church reminding us of it. I took those words to heart. He also said never ignore that feeling you get when you feel like God is calling you to talk to someone about Christ; they may need it! 

3 thoughts on “Living Your Purpose

Leave a Reply

