Praying For Your Enemies

Normally when I mention enemies I am talking about the devil as your enemy, but this time I wanted to talk about a different enemy. By enemies I mean those you do not necessarily like. Those who have hurt you in some way, you just had a disagreement, or you really do not have a reason. What ever the reason is behind disliking them I am sure there is that one person you just cannot stand. Maybe you want to love that person, but you just feel you cannot. I happen to hold grudges on people quite often. I will pretend like I have forgiven you. But really my heart is often full of bitterness and I am set on revenge. (I sometimes forget that I planned on holding a grudge.)

2 Kings 6:8-23 changed my mind on the whole bitterness revenge thing. Instead of getting payback for whatever wrong someone has done to me. (okay lets be honest… I still sometimes want revenge and from time to time I still feel bitter. Sometimes things in life just do not go your way and it hurts, but it is your choice to do good or wrong.)  Those verses talk about a man asking God to open his enemies eyes. Sometimes those who have done wrong to us do not realize what they have done, they are often lost. We were one lost in the darkness too. Pray that their eyes will be open, not that they will “get what they deserve.” Remember there are two sides to every story and you do not see why the other did as they did because that is not your side.

John 15:12 “This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you.”
We should pray for them because we are to love them. Pray for yourself. Pray God will give you the strength to love your enemies. Yes, loving your enemies will be hard, but it will be worth it. Anything God tells you to do ends up being worth it. At some points it may seem like it is not. But it will eventually make since.

Luke 6:27-28 “Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.” Help your enemies when given the chance. Maybe the reason they have hurt you is because they have never felt love. Maybe they do not know what love is. So, live life loving anyone and everybody. Be slow to gossip and to judge.

Dear Lord,
Watch over my enemies, open their eyes. I want them to see the light. Have them to know what love feels like. Give me the strength to get over my hatred. I truly could not get over this bitterness I feel without you. Thank you.

Amen

2 thoughts on “Praying For Your Enemies

Leave a Reply

