Fruit of the Spirit Challenge: Temperance

We are on the last week of this challenge! So, lets just get started!

Devotional:
Temperance is self control. When we are angry we tend to act on that anger. We just say and act as we feel that anger. That is not how we should act. In Proverbs 29:11 it says only fools act that way. The wise will control their anger. Rather than act on it.

Every time my siblings and I get in a fight my mom tells us to pick our fights. We do not have to argue over everything. (I am sure your parents have said that too. If not I will say it for them). Being slow to anger shows great understanding. (Proverbs 14:29)

Ecclesiastes 7:9 tells us “Be not hasty in thy spirit to be angry: for anger resteth in the bosom of fools.” We should not rest on our anger.The only two things that have helped my anger in the past couple months is 1. find a key verse. 2. prayer.

My key verse is Psalm 143:10 “Teach me to do thy will; for thou art my God: thy spirit is good; lead me into the land of uprightness.” Yes it does not have anger or self control in the verse, but it says teach me to do your will. To do your will reminds me God does not want me to be angry because that is not part of Gods will for my life. My prayer normally goes, “Dear Lord, help me with my bitterness, I do not want to feel this way. I want to love like you Lord. Teach me Your way. Amen.” I say bitterness because I do not have anger. I have bitterness. The difference between the two is that anger does not last as long as bitterness. My bitterness takes over some days. If I do not pray that prayer or one similar to it each day at least once, my bitterness becomes in control.

I really suggest you find your key verse and memorize it!

Dear Lord,
Keep me from anger. Give me self control. I know that anger is not what You want for my life… I do not want it either. Bring it out of my life. I can not take it out on my own. Thank you Lord.
Amen

Verses:
1. 2 Timothy 1:7
2.Proverbs 14:29
3. Psalms 141:3
4. 1 Corinthians 10:13
5. Proverbs 29:11
6. James 1:19
7. Ecclesiastes 7:9

Challenge:

1. Pray for self control
2. Find your key verse
3. Next time you are angry and need control pray and read your key verse
4. Right down what angers you and ask God to help you with it
5. Find a verse on self control
6. Apologize to someone you possibly hurt with your words out of anger
7. Pick a challenge to do from another challenge

11 thoughts on “Fruit of the Spirit Challenge: Temperance

Leave a Reply

