Fruit of the Spirit Challenge: Gentleness

We are on week 5! Week one is here if you are new and would like to join the challenge. This challenge purpose is to help you grow in God. This week we are learning gentleness. So, let’s just get into the challenge!

Devotional:

Gentleness is in the way you speak and how you act. It takes patience to have gentleness. Honestly, I am not always very gentle when it comes to speaking; I just ramble whatever is on my mind when I am angry or upset.

I found a good definition for gentleness. It was: “Gentleness is a strong hand with a soft touch. It is a tender, compassionate approach toward others’ weaknesses and limitations. A gentle person still speaks truth, sometimes even painful truth, but in doing so guards his tone so the truth can be well received.”

We do not need to keep the truth from people by being gentle, but we need to have a way with our words that does not harm others. This can be very hard, I know. But, it takes a strong person to do such a thing.

When I ramble on in my anger I need to remember the verse Proverbs 15:1 which says “A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” When I just ramble whatever I am feeling with out thinking about it, I stir up anger. That causes more drama than necessary. Harsh words are powerful. They stick with you like bubblegum when you fall asleep with it still in your mouth. It is disgusting. It can ruin you. But with God on our side, we have the power to stand up and be courageous. Although we do not have say in who says what about us, we do have power in what we say to/about others.

“To speak evil of no man, to be no brawlers, but gentle, shewing all meekness unto all men.” -Titus 3:2 Do not speak bad of others! Like you have probably been told many times before “if you have nothing nice to say, do not say anything at all.” Yes, there may be something you do not like about someone, but that does not mean you need to give others reasons to hate. There is so much hatred in this world. We need to be the love in the world. We need to seek beauty. Yes, it will be hard and there will be days when all we see is the ugly of the world, but never give up.

Basically kind words are always the best option no matter how hard. It keeps you from bitterness, gossiping, hurting others, and it can bring you closer to God! Control your words, you cannot take them back. Your words can be toxic to others and
yourself. Gentleness shows strength, not weakness. It takes strength to keep yourself from saying harsh words.

 “Let your gentleness be known to all men. The Lord is at hand.” Philippians 4:5
Show the world Gods light by speaking kind words. Think before you speak. Be slow to anger as you speak.

Dear Lord,
I have been struggling with my words. I say the wrong words and stir up anger. Please bring me the strength to stop. Have those who I have hurt with my words forgive. Teach me to always speak kindly. I only want words of your love God. Thank you!
Amen

Verses:
1. Ephesians 4:2
2. Proverbs 15:1
3. James 3:5
4. Philippians 4:5
5. Proverbs 15:4
6. James 1:19-20
7. Titus 3:2

Challenge:
1. Find a quote that reminds you to be gentle with your words
2. No negative talk towards yourself or others all day
3. Pick a part from last weeks challenge
4. Live by a verse you find about being gentle
5. You pick
6. Pray to God asking for gentleness
7. Think before you talk

BTW After this challenge is over I am planning on changing my posting day. I do not know what day yet, but it will be changed.

3 thoughts on “Fruit of the Spirit Challenge: Gentleness

  1. SunSparkleShine says:

    I love that definition of gentleness: “a strong hand with a soft touch.” I’ve also heard it described as “power under control”. It makes you wonder how gentleness ever got mistaken with weak when clearly this isn’t the case.
    Thanks so much for sharing your heart (and your struggles) with us to help us appreciate the power of God’s Word.
    Hugs and blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

