Fruit of the Spirit Challenge: Peace

We are now on week 3 of the Fruit of the Spirit Challenge. Week 1 is here. We already covered love and joy. Now we are on peace.

Devotional:

Many people consider peace to be when life is going perfect and steady. I do not believe that is completely true. Life happens. Some days life is a hurricane. Other days it is a nice fall day where it is not suffocatingly hot, but you are not freezing to death ,unless you’re me. Also, I said fall because I love fall, it’s basically just a mild/nice day. Life is unpredictable. You do not get to choose how it turns out. I feel as if peace is more on the inside. It is what is in your heart. It is how you let those bad days control you. Peace is not only a choice you make, it’s the choice to choose God.

“For he is our peace, who hath made both one, and hath broken down the middle wall of partition between us.” Ephesians 2:14 He is our peace I underlined that part because that was the main part I wanted to focus on in this verse. So, if you are lost, wondering, or trying to find your peace, remember He is your peace. If you believe in God, and He is in you; you need to listen to Him and talk to Him. There is no way He can comfort you if you do not let Him speak and you do not tell Him. That is like trying to comfort someone, but you do not know why they are upset; they just keep blocking you out. Yes, there are times when you need to be comforted, but cannot speak on why. But, it is nearly impossible to comfort you.

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” – 1 Peter 5:7 Instead of worrying; which takes your peace from you, we should give the Lord our worries. Pray to Him, asking for guidance. Ask Him to get rid of your worry. I can tell you prayer is one of the most powerful things. He has gotten rid of many of my worries by prayer.

“If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.” – Romans 12:18
Instead of constantly causing strife and drama that should not be there, bring peace. Do not be negative, bitter, or rude. Be kind, loving, and joyful instead. Show the fruits of the spirit. Although, there will be times when others cause drama, and you cannot do anything about what their actions are, other than by prayer of course, you can choose to not add to the drama.

Dear Lord, 

Keep me from starting strife and unnecessary drama. I want to be a peacemaker. Have me to bring peace into others lives as well as my own. Help me to show your fruits have them to reflect you from my life. Lord help me to get rid of (fill in here with whatever is stopping you from having peace.)  I do not want that in my life stealing my peace. Thank you.
Amen.

Verses:

try to not only memorize these verses, but to also live by them.
1. 1 Peter 3:11
2. Romans 12:18
3. Colossians  3:15
4. Ephesians 2:14
5. Hebrews 12:14
6. 1 Peter 5:7
7. Psalms 34:14

Challenge:
These do not have to be done in any specific order.
1. Forgive someone even if they do not ask for forgiveness
2. Pray for peace
3. Memorize and live by a verse talking about peace (Not from the list above.)
4. Find one reason a day to be thankful
5. Do not gossip for one day
6. Find a way to bring joy to someones day
7. You pick (make your own part to this challenge)

4 thoughts on “Fruit of the Spirit Challenge: Peace

Leave a Reply

