Bitterness

“Bitterness is poison to your heart.”

Bitterness takes you from the one you really need. Bitterness captures your heart filling it with poison and lies. It leads you to evilness not towards God. When someone says or does something that makes me angry I become bitter. I do not want to forgive them even if they did not mean to do it. Bitterness removes any joy you feel in your heart. Bitterness is overwhelming. Nothing good comes from a bitter heart. There are different sizes of bitterness but, no matter the size bitterness is never right.

“Strive for peace with everyone, and for the holiness without which no one will see the Lord. See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God; that no “root of bitterness” springs up and causes trouble, and by it many become defiled;” – Hebrews 12:14-15

With bitterness in your heart you cannot find peace. Bitterness will cause nothing but trouble. As christians we are to show the light. But, with bitterness in your heart and revenge on your mind you cannot show light.

“Let all bitterness, wrath, anger, clamor, and slander be put away from you along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgive one another, as God in Christ has forgiven you.” – Ephesians 4:31-32

To get rid of bitterness you need to change your way of thinking, be forgiving no matter how hard it may be. Pray to God so He can guide you. Instead of being bitter be kind and instead of wrath choose joy.

“Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.” – Proverbs 4:23

This goes back to the show the light thing. You cannot be a light if your heart is full of bitterness. Guard yourself from bitterness. keep yourself from it, no good comes from being bitter. (John chapter 1 talks about the light)

Lately when I feel the need to be bitter the only two things that can refrain me from speaking whats on my mind or doing something else is prayer and a verse. Prayer has kept me calm. It has kept me from gossiping and a bonus is it has brought me closer to God and made me more like who He wants me to be. Yes I understand it is hard to pray sometimes when all you want to do is get your revenge on someone but, just do it. The verse does not say anything about bitterness. but, it keeps me calm and replaces my bitterness. Bitterness causes you to seek the flaws and faults of this world and others rather than the beauty. Trust me there is so much beauty to see.

The verse is Psalms 143:10 and it says “Lord, teach me to do your will, may your good spirit lead me on level ground.” The reason this verse works for my bitterness is 1. Teach me to do your will. We are to do Gods will for our lives and Seeking revenger and being full of bitterness will not do us any favors on learning our will.  2. Lead me on level ground. When I am bitter I am a rolercoster of emotions. I feel like I want to cry one second, the next I want to scream, than I just want to punch someone. All these emotions will make you stumble and you will be on ground full of obstacles and places to fall. I recommend you find a verse that keeps you calm and memorize it so when you need it you can repeat it in your head.

Dear Lord,
Help me to get rid of the bitterness in my head and heart, it is constantly trying to take over. My bitterness is causing me to stumble. Bring me peace and forgiveness. Bring me joy. Keep me as far away from bitterness as I can get. Bitterness causes me to see the worst in things when there is a lot of beauty to be seen. Bitterness points at flaws I do not want to be this way. Lord change my heart, thank you.
Amen

8 thoughts on “Bitterness

  1. rachaellbeers says:

    Great post! I struggle with bitterness and anger. I really do! This is a post that speaks to me. I had a similar one. Making sure to show the light of Christ instead of showing the world a bitter heart is a call we all have as Christians. It’s hard though! Oh, it’s so hard! I guess God never promised it would be easy. lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. crystalclearann says:

    As women, it seems that we can be more prone to HOLD ONTO IT ALL, including bitterness, when that is not what God wants for us. I love that you shared so many Bible verses in this post. Scripture in powerful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. amm081892sbcglobalnet says:

    Great post! I really liked the part about guarding your heart because that is where the light comes from. It’s so true if I let bitterness sink into my heart I’m less willing to do God’s will and be giving to others.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

