Joy

“When you seek God you will find joy.”

I am going to be honest with you. I am not a joy filled person. I am constantly trying to find and pointing out the horrible things in life that would steal my joy. I am the person that sees the glass half empty instead of half full. I do not want to be this way. Good thing I was not made to be perfect, right? Well, that is another thing, just because nobody is perfect at everything does not mean we give up.

Psalms 4:7 “Fill my heart with joy when their grain and new wine abound.”

The Lord puts joy in your heart. Your joy does not depend on things such as corn and wine. Which do not last forever, unlike our incredible God. He is there for us in times of struggles and needs, and when we are at our highest. Do not put your joy in temporary things, instead put it in the eternal never failing God.

You can count on a never failing God rather then a friend or ice cream or really what ever else you think brings you joy. It will never be enough for you. It will leave you wanting more. Put your joy in Christ. He has more strength then anyone you know. He loves you, when he created you, you were not just someone to feel in an unfilled spot. You were created to show His light. The Lord will bring you joy and peace.

Romans 8:18  “I consider that our present sufferings are not worth. comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.” 1 Peter 1:6 “In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials.
Just because you are having a rough time, at the moment, does not mean you will never have good days again. The Lord has unremitting joy to come for those who trust in Him.

James 1:2-4 “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”
When the Lord brings trials into your life you should count it as joy. He is testing your faith, so you can do what God has called you to do. He is preparing you for His will for your life. 

Acts 2:28 “You have made known to me the paths of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence.”  The Lord will bring you joy when He is part of your life. But, if you do not seek Him and put Him in your life then how can He bring you joy?

John 15:9-11 “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.”   When we obey the Lord we will find joy. I find that very true. When I do something I should not do, I feel guilt and ashamed. When you are filled with guilt and shame it is hard to find joy.

Dear Lord,

Have me remember that good days are to come. Bring me joy. I cannot find joy in the temporary things on earth but, I can  find joy in you. Lord,  I pray that in these times of trials I will find joy in you. Bring me closer to you. Have me to be obediant.

Amen

6 thoughts on “Joy

Leave a Reply

